top of page

LET’S TALK ABOUT IT— DAY 3 of 30 GUESTS IN 30 DAYS


The magnificence of you cannot be destroyed.

Yes, that's right! You deserve to remind yourself of that undisputed fact daily! It's Day 3 of Let's Talk About It on DETAILS! Am I excited to be here? I bet you know the answer.😁 Let's get the ball rolling.



What do you fear?


I was terrified of rainy days, more specifically; the lightning and thunder. This fear only lasted until the physics class, my teacher explained the formation of lightning.

It was a relief to discover that what I was afraid of, was caused by the coming together of opposite charges to discharge electricity. The sound accompanying it gives the thunder.


Ever since that moment of enlightenment, I could look at the cloud on rainy days without fear. I do not have to hug myself anymore, neither do I also have to hide under my blanket, closing my ears, shaking in fear.  


At different points in our lifetime,  we battle with various fears. Some fears are visible and tangible. Some aren’t. They might be abstract. Like the fear of love.  Philophobia is from the Greek words “philos” and “phobos” which means; loving and fear respectively.


The fear of love might stem from reasons like child abandonment,  the loss of a loved one, divorce of parents, past abusive relationships, painful break ups, the fear of rejection, the feeling of not being enough, traumatic childhood, and personal reasons that makes one feel unlovable.


Someone who fears love might prefer short term relationships to long term relationships. They detach when they start to get intimate with people. They find it easy to connect to strangers than their loved ones. They are suspicious of care, love and attention.


Philophobic individuals might get panic attacks, they feel dizzy, nauseous and sweat profusely when they begin to love someone. Overtime, therapy is  one of the best approaches to cure phobias. A therapist works with you to identify your problems and help you in your journey towardshealing.


Fears hinders us from living our best life. They close our eyes to the beauty that surrounds us. Our fears tells us to hide, even when we should go all out.


Like how I conquered my fear of thunder,  we can confront our fears by understanding the root cause of the fear. A person who fears love because he thinks he possess unnecessary traits, can work on those traits and become better at them. The question “Why?” must be asked. Why have I become so closed to love? Why do I find it difficult to let people love me?


Understanding this—the root cause of your fear, opens you to healing. It helps to know what to work on, and the help you need to get. This is the first step towards healing.

What do you fear?


Let's connect!🎉

Twitter handle- @AfolabiEunice11

Brand Instagram page- loving__everyday

Tiktok- loving__everyday

 

51 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page