top of page

Let’s Talk About It— Day 26 of 30Guests in 30Days


While you're making use of the Black Friday deals and sales, the series— Let's Talk About It with #30Guestsin30Days continues on DETAILS!

Shall we?



Honestly, this was quite fun.

I mean K-dramas is one thing I know I'm well versed at, but I was asked to talk about it and I went blank😅. Well, till I decided to start writing😉.

 

So What comes to mind when I think about K-dramas? 5 things;

1. The Cast

2. The Plot, Setting, Characters, and the Original Soundtrack

3. The fashion

4. The food

5. The Romance.

 

Casting Directors know what they are doing when they select a cast. They visually draw you into these shows. I mean for a drama like Hwarang, I know a lot of fans that watched for the cast😅. For A-listers like Lee Min Ho,Park Seo Joon, Ji Chang Wook, Kim Soo Hyun, Lee Dong Wook, Park Hyung Sik, Soong Joong Ki, Lee Jong Suk, and quite several others, the women; Son Ye Jin, Seo Yea Ji, Song Hye Kyo, Park Min Young, fans will watch their shows simply because they are in it.

 

Now not all these dramas are good (Don't come for

 me😅), this is where the plot, setting, and characters come in. Just because an A-lister is in it doesn't mean the drama will do well. Technically, it now comes down to the plot of the show. How captivating of a story it is, how well the story is written and how good the actors are at bringing these characters to life. Then the setting, honestly I think the fact that K-dramas settings are not what we foreigners are used to adds to its appeal. The cinematography is always amazing. Their historical dramas, for instance, it's always so enthralling to learn about their history. Also, when they select a profession, say, for instance, the lead actor/actress is a doctor, lawyer, athlete, actress, or writer, you learn quite a lot about the profession. I mean, if you watched a drama like Hospital Playlist, Doctor John, Yong Pal, and other medicaldramas you should know some medical terms in Korean😅, not just the terms, you'll see a lot of cases, see what happens when a patient is about to go into surgery and whatnot, and in their legal dramas too.

Then, the Original Soundtracks (OST), this actually led me into Kpop, I happened to love their songs a lot too. The OSTs from The Heirs and The Healer will always give me this feeling of nostalgia whenever I hear them. Their songs are so beautiful, they make you connect to the drama emotionally.

 

The Fashion, it's quite in a league of its own. In Western series, unless the genre is fashion-related, their outfits don't usually stand out. But in K-dramas their clothes always give this trendy appeal. The accessories as well, are always so good. When I visit Korea, that's one thing I'm going after - The CLOTHES😂.

The food, you can't be a K-drama fan and not want to know what ramen tastes like😂, or cook your noodles and pretend you're eating ramen. Even when I'm watching a drama on a full stomach, they still make me salivate over their food when they are eating. I mean, they make it look aesthetically beautiful and appetizing.

 

The Romance🤭, now this is what non-K-drama fans are not a fan of (they think it's too cheesy) the slow-paced romance. You know the build-up, the tension. I mean K-dramas make us feel giddy over the tiniest gestures, the hand-holding, the back hugs, the dramatic confessions, and the kisses🤭. Then, the break-up, and the drama, which we have a love-hate relationship with.

Now, contrary to what these non K-drama fans think, they do not only make romance genres.


It was recently that Squid Game increased the number of K-drama fans worldwide and now

Alchemy of Souls. It made locals acknowledge the fact that K-dramas indeed could be captivating.

Apart from romance, there are genres for different types of viewers. Action, fantasy, horror, comedy, science fiction, historical, medical, legal, thriller, and any genres you could think of. Just search for it, and I'm sure you'd find one that suits your taste.

 

Their culture is another interesting factor. You watch a lot of K-dramas and you know some of these things.

 

1. You remove your shoes at the door when entering a house

2. You bow to greet your elders and people you're meeting for the first time. It's a formal way to greet (you even know the different types of bows)

3. You don't leave your chopsticks in your bowl of rice, you drop them on the table if you want to do something else.

4. If you're the youngest at the table you turn away from elders to drink.

5. Accept things with your two hands.

 

Just to mention a few.

I'll just keep going on and on at this rate, so let's try to end this. K-dramas for me (and I might even say for other fans) is my sweet obsession, an indulgence I find comfort in, a place I'll always go back to. I'm someone that has watched a K-drama in every genre. I can't even put a number on the list of dramas I've seen. I watch other movies too, but none of them get that physical and emotional connection that K-dramas make with an avid watcher. I can't also deny the fact that the Oppas also make us stay🤭.

Yes, there are sappy and cheesy K-dramas that even I can't stand to watch, but do not let that stop you from watching a K-drama. Do not let others' cynicism about what K-dramas are like ruin your chances of seeing a good movie. Tell me what you like and I'd recommend a good drama for you. If you still don't change your mind, then maybe K-dramas isn't for you.

Annyeong!

 

73 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page